Warner recognizes Victory Baptist Academy seniors for their effort to register classmates to vote

Thomas and Dillon are Honorary Secretaries of State
Charleston, W.Va –  On Friday, March 3rd, WV Secretary of State Mac Warner hosted two student leaders from Victory Baptist Academy (VBA) as his honored guests at the State Capitol. Micah Thomas and Evelyn Dillon – both members of the 2023 graduating class atVBA – were recommended by their principal to represent their high school as Honorary Secretaries of State for their effort to register members of the senior class to vote. Nominations for Honorary Secretaries of State are only accepted by those high schools that qualify for the Jennings Randolph Award. To qualify for the Award, a West Virginia high school must host a student-led effort to register at least 85% of their eligible senior class to vote. Started by our office in 1994 the Jennings Randolph Award for Civic Engagement commemorates our late U.S. Senator Jennings Randolph’s legacy as the Father of the 26th Amendment. One of the defining moments in voting rights history, the 26th Amendment was passed in 1971. The Amendment lowered the voting age from 21 to 18.
Members of the WV Legislature gathered at the WV Secretary of State’s Office to help welcome Thomas and Dillon. Pictured are WV Secretary of State Mac Warner,Evelyn Dillon, Micah Thomas, Raleigh County Clerk Scott Van Meter,Delegate Eric Brooks, and Delegate Todd Kirby.
“With the designation of Honorary Secretaries of State, Thomas and Dillon have proven to their school, community, and state that they are committed to seeing more young people in West Virginia voting and playing an active role in our government,” said Secretary of State Mac Warner. “Fewer than 30 high schools in the state will receive this prestigious recognition for the 2022-23 school year.” In addition to a tour of the WV Secretary of State’s Office and the State Capitol, Senator Rollan Roberts recognized Thomas and Dillon during the floor session of the WV Senate. Senator Roberts is an elected representative of Raleigh County and the School Administrator at Victory Baptist Academy.