WV SOS Warner recognizes two Woodrow Wilson High School seniors for their effort to register classmates to vote

Johnson and Jarrell are Honorary Secretaries of State;
Charleston, W.Va –  On Wednesday, March 7th, WV Secretary of State Mac Warner hosted two student leaders from Woodrow Wilson High School (WWHS) as his honored guests at the State Capitol. Camden Johnson and Presley Jarrell – both members of the 2024 graduating class at WWHS – were recommended by their principal to represent their high school as Honorary Secretaries of State for their efforts to register members of the senior class to vote. Nominations for Honorary Secretaries of State are only accepted by those high schools that qualify for the Jennings Randolph Award. To qualify for the Award, a West Virginia high school must host a student-led effort to register at least 85% of their eligible senior class to vote. Started by the WV Secretary of State’s Office in 1994, the Jennings Randolph Award for Civic Engagement commemorates West Virginia’s late U.S. Senator Jennings Randolph’s legacy as the Father of the 26th Amendment. One of the defining moments in voting rights history, the 26th Amendment was passed in 1971. The Amendment lowered the voting age from 21 to 18.
WV Secretary of State Mac Warner, Delegate Todd Kirby, Camden Johnson,Presley Jarrell and Delegate Eric Brooks
“With the designation of Honorary Secretaries of State, Johnson and Jarrell have proven to their school, community, and state that they are committed to seeing more young people in West Virginia voting and playing an active role in our government,” said Secretary of State Mac Warner. “Fewer than 30 high schools in the state will receive this prestigious recognition for the 2023-24 school year.” In addition to a tour of the WV Secretary of State’s Office and the State Capitol, Delegate Todd Kirby recognized Johnson and Jarrell during the House of Delegates floor session. Delegate Kirby is a representative of Raleigh County and serves on the House Judiciary Committee.